🧑🏼‍🚀 unserious is the new sexy

let's go to space 🌎 issue no. 5

I don’t know about you, but I love a good mission to save mankind! I also love a good space opera presented in a light, easy-viewing formula — and guess who’s delivering exactly that?? You guessed it, baby, it’s The Ark.

🛳️ The Ark is soooo unserious but in truly the best possible way. They’ve got the quintessential low budget, high drama, with twists and turns that I both did and did *not* see coming. And I was eating that shit uppppp.

So, let’s get into it. But first: 🛑 Being a TV newsletter and all, there naturally are spoilers in every issue. Please proceed with caution if you have not yet watched The Ark (Syfy) but are actually planning to. 🛑

⌚️ Low budget, high stakes. The Ark is a show that feels like someone took one look at Murphy’s Law and thought, What if we made a show based on it? Literally every single episode, 5 different things are going wrong, but the main characters always come out on top. And the low budget makes the drama and high stakes kind of…… funny? I mean, they’ve all got these smartwatch-looking things that look like something I would get from Five Below. For a child. It’s kind of giving high school play, and I loooooove it.

👯‍♀️ The predictability really got me. Garnet being a clone? I am proud to say that I totally saw that coming. Okay, so, technicallyyyyyy, I thought twin at first, but then I changed my mind to clone when she started being all “I’d tell you but then I’d have to kill you.”

🔪 Except… everything is predictable until it isn’t. I thought I was going to predict this entire show, until my jaw started dropping all the time. Like, Trent being the murderer?? Did not see that coming. Or Ark 15 being the one that shot at Ark 3 and Ark 1. Or William Trust and wifey being on Ark 1!!

The drama really delivered, and The Ark is such enjoyable, easy viewing with a story that you do get invested in, but that also comes with the underlying comfort of knowing that everything is going to work out because it always does for this crew. Season 2 just started coming out, so it’s not too late for you to join in on the fun 🤪

🦖 Drumroll, please…. for this issue’s fun, silly hobby, I’m getting into crocheting! I haven’t actually started making anything yet, but I did get myself these two kits from The Woobles. Stay tuned for pics comin’ at ya in the next issue!

That’s all from me, bad TV besties. Stay unserious 😜

🇵🇸 Contact your rep to demand an immediate ceasefire + get involved with Operation Olive Branch.

Reply

or to participate.